proj banner

Our Projects

Office to Residential Conversions

Planning, Residential - Projects >

Office to Residential Conversions

Value:

Following the changes to the Town and Country Planning General Permitted Development Order which came into effect in May 2013, we have been appointed by several clients to advise them how they can benefit from the new Class J provision which allows offices (Class B1a) to be converted into residential properties (Class C3) using the less stringent prior notification procedure.

At Compton House, Northampton, we were able to advise the client how they could secure planning consent for the conversion of a substantial office building to create 94 student apartments. This required robust arguments to be developed, based upon a thorough review of case law, to show how the proposed student accommodation fell within a C3 (residential) use class and therefore was able to benefit from the prior notification process.

Elsewhere in Northampton, at 32-34 Derngate, working with Michelmores Solicitors and Arcteck Designs we were able to demonstrate to the Council how the prior notification process could be considered alongside a large extension to facilitate the residential conversion.  In addition we were able to provide robust planning arguments to overcome the Council’s concerns over residential amenity and secure planning permission for the development.

Most recently, in Cogenhoe, South Northamptonshire, we secured permission for the conversion of a former school house, which had been in office use for several years into 5 apartments.  This also included securing planning permission for extensions and alterations to the building.

PROJECT GALLERY

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aenean gravida libero luctus eros fermentum fringilla. Vivamus sed varius elit. Suspendisse lacinia pharetra nibh, eu posuere ex. Ut sodales orci tellus, ac ullamcorper magna gravida non. Praesent vestibulum scelerisque mi at convallis. Sed non neque magna.

Your login details have been used by another user or machine. Login details can only be used once at any one time so you have therefore automatically been logged out. Please contact your sites administrator if you believe this other user or machine has unauthorised access.